Possessed – Seven Churches LP


This product is currently out of stock and unavailable.


After releasing a demo and placing the song “Swing of the Axe” on the famous Metal Massacre VI compilation, Possessed landed a deal with Combat Records in 1985, who offered the band a contract with tours, up-front money and a bunch of extra benefits. The band soon entered the studio with Randy Burns as producer to record their debut album “Seven Churches”. Because several band members were still going to school (bassist/vocalist Jeff Becerra and guitarist Lalonde were 16 at that time), the recordings had to be done during the Easter holidays.

The final release came as a real bombshell. Not only the music stood out but also the image and lyrics, as no band had gone as satanic as Possessed before. Even though many people believed this to be a marketing stunt, Jeff Becerra took the lyrical aspect quite seriously. “Actually I have always been fascinated with the occult. Right from the start we said that we wanted to be the world’s heaviest, most satanic band ever,” Jeff recalled in an interview with German cult fanzine Voices From The Darkside. The inspiration for the lyrics did not always come from spiritual sources though: “I wrote the song “Death Metal” in English class while I was still in high school. I remember it like it was yesterday. My instructor had extremely hairy legs so I really had no interest in what she was saying. So I started penning the heaviest shit I could think of. I think that it was her hairy-ass legs that inspired such a brutally ugly song.” And how do you come up with a song title that would become eponymous for a whole metal genre? As easy as 1-2-3, according to Jeff Becerra: “The song title “Black Metal” was already taken so we decided to call the song “Death Metal”.”

Exclusively for the re-release of “Seven Churches” on High Roller Records, producer Patrick Engel (Temple of Disharmony studios, i.a. Desaster, Heaven Shall Burn) has carefully restored the original sound of the album (no more switched channels like on other editions of the album), so it sounds like 1985 again. Additionally, the re-release of “Seven Churches” on High Roller Records comes with the original embossed front cover, just as the original version of the album on Combat Records.

Sebastian Thiel


High Roller Records, 4th pressing: ltd 500, 250 x gold + 250 transparent purple vinyl, 425gsm heavy embossed cardboard cover, cardboard lyric sheet, photo insert, poster, specially mastered for vinyl by Patrick W. Engel/ Temple of Disharmony, 100% original sound, no remaster!

A1 The Exorcist
A2 Pentagram
A3 Burning In Hell
A4 Evil Warriors
A5 Seven Churches
B1 Satan’s Curse
B2 Holy Hell
B3 Twisted Minds 5:10
B4 Fallen Angel
B5 Death Metal

Additional information

Weight 1 lbs
Dimensions 12 x 12 x 0.25 in